accidentalhausfrau

Various Eats from our “Staycation”

In Dinner, Seasonal Eating on July 28, 2009 at 4:08 pm

Back from our first ever “Staycation” and I have to say, it was very relaxing and I am definitely looking forward to part II in mid-August.  I had said that I wasn’t planning on cooking at all but I did anyway.  Everything was just so chill that a few quick meals just happened.  I made Thursday night pizza night and did Summer Squash Pizza.

SSPizzaI felt this pizza just called out for grilling and so I used the grill pan and finished it off in the oven.  I featured fresh yellow squash from Hickory Lane Farm and tomatoes from my very own container garden.  Light, fresh and super summery.

Friday was spent in Baltimore watching and eating fish and then back home on Saturday for a day at the pool and evening BBQ with my husband’s parents.  I didn’t want to be doing anything in the kitchen during the heat of the day and so I chose to make a couple of cold sides and marinate some flank steak to grill.  The result: Korean Barbecued Flank Steak with Hot and Sour Slaw Salad (served as a sandwich on fresh sesame seed rolls) and a side of California Roll Salad (#21).  The link to the salad features 100 other great summer salads besides #21.  Oh, and I decided that we needed to “get our drink on” and Bon Appetit Magazine was more than happy to oblige with directions for a “tipsy Arnold Palmer” – Sweet Tea with Vodka and Lemonade.  Let’s just say, this is going to be a staple in my fridge for the rest of the summer!

I’m looking for inspirational cucumber salads and corn salads, so please feel free to leave me links.

Leave a Reply

