accidentalhausfrau

Chicken Shawarma with homemade Tzatziki

In Dinner, Seasonal Eating on July 19, 2009 at 1:43 am

Would you believe I forgot to take pictures until half the food was gone from my plate?  That’s what company and good bottle of wine will do to the brain.  Let me create a picture of the meal for you – here’s the recipe for the chicken and for the tzatziki.  Imagine if you will, chicken skewers that have been marinating in curry and cumin for for hours, grilled and then placed on flat bread with fresh romaine lettuce and heirloom tomato slices.  Top it with rich, garlicky yogurt sauce and enjoy.  I know I did, I’m still tasting the garlic.  There was a neat little vegetable salad recipe that accompanied the chicken recipe that I would definitely make again.  It featured bell peppers, cucumber, tomato, and red onion with parsley and a red wine vinegar dressing.  Silly me forgot that one of our guests doesn’t really eat vegetables (that guest being a 3o-something father) so much of the meal was lost on him but overall, the meal was enjoyed by all present.  One final thing, a giant shout out to fresh from the farm garlic – I am officially spoiled rotten!

Leave a Reply

