accidentalhausfrau

Pies and More-Vegetable-Than-Egg Frittata

In Dinner, Seasonal Eating on July 17, 2009 at 1:35 am

Pies

tarts

I had to figure out something to do with some of the peaches from yestrday’s market (they got a little bruised) so, I went to the Fannie Farmer cookbook and found a recipe for peach turnovers.  They featured a sour cream dough which was totally the wrong recipe to try on a day as hot as today.  Maybe if I had a marble slab in my kitchen, I could have worked with the dough but since I don’t it didn’t work.  I went to the fridge and dragged out a roll of crecent dough and turned that into circles to make handpies.  Then, I used a little of the dough and make tartlets out of it.  I’d like to attempt these again, maybe in the winter months (with apples??).

not-tatta

Since my husband was out with his dad for dinner tonight, I was on my own for dinner.  This was a grand opportunity to clean out the fridge.  Peppers, squash, onions, potatoes, broccoli – all of it went into frying pan with some eggs and Parmesan (guided by this recipe).  This was so good and made me very happy – and not that much cleanup.  Score!!!!

Leave a Reply

